Interview with Papatia Feauxzar

Interview with Papatia Feauxzar

1. Tell us your journey from an accountant to an authorpreneur.
It has been intriguing! Rumi said, “What you seek is seeking you.” It was true in my case because Allah put a coworker on my path with whom I started at the same time with at my first accounting job. Her husband is a writer, publisher, teacher and many other things. When she told me that, I immediately realized that she and I met for that purpose. Alhamdullilah. I have always wanted to publish books since I was a teenager but the opportunity to do so didn’t get in my face in such a way until I met this particular co-worker. I capitalized right away on that in-your-face opportunity and sat off to get my work out there. It wasn’t cheap but I invested in my dreams and it has paid off. Overall, it was a blessing masha’Allah.

2. What inspired you to write The Ducktrinors Book I and II?
It all started with a really vivid dream I had where I wouldn’t let a boy subdue me into kneeling to him. When I woke up, I decided to pen a short story titled ‘Hanifa’. Later, many other twists found their way in the story because I wanted a cool YA story that the Muslim youth and beyond could relate to.

3. Super-Speed Shuttle in place of cabs. Flying jets instead of theater seats. And humanoids and clones fill the earth. How do you come up with sci-fi concepts to include in your book?
I’ve watched too many movies and read too many books in the sci-fi and dystopian genre. That made it easy to imagine the future. I’m also a big dreamer and I always think I’m a stranger of the future. Pretentious? Maybe *Laughs*.

4. The Ducktrinors Book I and II have a wealth of information in it. What resources and references did you use while researching for the book, Islamic and otherwise?
The Quran and the Sunnah tremendously helped me for Book I. I read the whole transliterated version of the Quran during a Ramadan and took plenty of notes. Additionally, the ancient and current Islamic history in Lost Islamic History and Generation M helped me with Book II. I have a complete list of the books that helped me pen this story at the end of The Ducktrinors Book I & Book II for the readers to check out insha’Allah.

5. Who is your favourite character from the book The Ducktrinors Book I and II?
Dawud! I love the little guy and his voice. How about you?

6. I love him too! And I am not saying that because he shares the same name as my son 😉
What do you want your readers to take away from this book?
For the non-Muslim readers, I want them to know what real Muslims are like and understand Islam from the travesty that has been concocted out there. For the Muslim readers, I want them to know that we have cool superheroes they can look up to and not be ashamed of. They can proudly fashion themselves after great early righteous without losing themselves in the process. They don’t have to blend in or follow crowds.

7. Which authors inspire you the most?
I like the writing of many authors but I don’t have one that I can say is most inspiring. I’m weird that way. I fear it would border on shirk in my opinion *laughs*. So, I just praise the work or writing skills of the author if there are laudable and move on.

8. What motivated you to set up a publishing company?
My friend’s husband who helped me get into the publishing business advised me that starting a publishing company helps with getting respected in the business. He said that it makes you look more professional and he was right. That said, it’s just how the mindset of the industry and those in it works. There are many self-publishers who received credit and are respected. Alhamdullilah, Djarabi Kitabs Publishing has come a long way and has gained respect and credit in the industry because of the compelling works we have published.

9. How do you manage your day as a mother, writer, and publisher?
It’s a tough juggle subhanallah. I make dua and prioritize tasks. Otherwise, you will never get anything done. I do one thing at a time even though it looks like multi-tasking. Overall, it’s multi-tasking but in the details, I focus on one issue at a time to be able to perform as a whole. I give my whole heart and focus to the sole activity I’m working on at a specific time before moving on to another. If I’m stuck, I start something else. Otherwise, it’s always one thing at a time.

10. Could we have a peek at your work-space?
Sure, attached.

Papatia sneak peek of her workspace

I cut-off all the things I don’t want you guys to see *laughs*! Thanks for having me.

Thank you for taking time off your busy schedule and sharing your insights with us!

Papatia Feauxzar High Resolution Picture

Papatia Feauxzar is an American author, barista, and publisher of West African descent living in Dallas, Texas with her son and husband. She holds a master’s degree in Accounting with a concentration in Personal Finance. After working as an accountant for a corporate firm for almost five years, Feauxzar decided to pursue Accounting from home while homeschooling her son. She is currently working toward obtaining her CPA license. Feauxzar then plans to obtain her PhD in Accounting. She also blogs at Between Sisters, SVP! or A Ducktrinor Mom . She is the Love and Relationship Editor at Hayati Magazine. She has written for AboutIslam, MVSLIM, and SISTERS Magazine. You can visit her websites at www.djarabikitabs.com or www.fofkys.com.

The Ducktrinors Book I & Book II is available on Djarabi Kitabs Publishing‘s website , Amazon on eBook, hardback and paperback formats, and Fofky’s Online Book Cafe.

Read the review of The Ducktrinors Book I here.

2 thoughts on “Interview with Papatia Feauxzar

Leave a comment