Top 10 Books of My 2017 Reading List

Top 10 Books of My 2017 Reading List

Don’t you love a book that moves you, touches you, evokes compassion, empathy, humbleness, or any other positive feeling in you?
Don’t you love a book that gives you life lessons, and makes a positive impact on you?

Well, guess what, the following books did exactly that for me. Find the list below in order of age range, starting from toddlers and going up to adults. 

  1. Allah Al-Aleem, by Bint Abdul Hamid2857094_3019267_1492033287
    Synopsis: The best gift we can give our children is the knowledge of Tawheed, to know their Creator. Knowing Allah by His names will help establish their roots, and help them to attach to Allah out of love of His perfection. May Allah help us to fulfill the responsibility of bringing up our children knowing Allah and worshipping Him alone.Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Humbleness.

  2. I Will Not Clean My Room, by Saharish Arshad61ntj7nub1l-_sx258_bo1204203200_
    Synopsis: Musa’s mom asks him to clean his room. Instead, he decides to imagine all the wonderful things he’s going to do in Jannah. Join him as he dreams away and learns that good deeds are really worth the effort.Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Perseverance.

  3. Ramadan Without Daddy, by Misbah Akhtar51fMFo6zzOL._AC_SL230_
    Synopsis: The concept of Divorce is very challenging for young children. This book is based around a Muslim family and the story of young Khadija helping her mother and brother. The story gives many opportunities for positive discussion for parents and educators wanting to explore this difficult concept with balanced sensitivity from an Islamic perspective.Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Patience.

  4. I am Fasting this Ramadan, by Zeneefa ZeneerIFTR
    Synopsis: Little Sakeena is excited. Fasting for the first time in Ramadan is a huge thing for a little girl. However, juicy dates, strawberry lollipops, spicy rolls , a bowl of delicious porridge and of course her favourite Faluda milkshake are all making her hungry. Besides, her Goldfish isn’t fasting. Checking the time doesn’t help either. Will Sakeena be able to complete that first fast or will the flaky tuna samosa win her over?Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Inspire.

  5. The Blessed Bananas, by Tayyaba Syed61r6boqzr7l-_sx258_bo1204203200_
    Synopsis: Everyone in the village knows not to come near the cranky, old monkey Rico or his precious bananas. However, after some unwanted encounters, Rico learns a life-changing lesson. Find out how in this heart-warming tale of friendship, kindness and the power of prayer.Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Generosity.

  6. Jasmine in the Wind, by Ayesha Desai2857511_3023857_1493927343
    Synopsis: This story follows a young Syrian girl named Afraa and her harrowing journey to safety and freedom. Whilst she learns to love her new home, a part of her heart will always be buried in the roots of the jasmine bush outside her parent’s room window in Syria.Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Courage.

  7. Wonder, by P. J. Palacio51nqkqzwr-l-_sx337_bo1204203200_
    Synopsis: “I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.”
    August Pullman was born with a facial deformity that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid – but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. […] In a world where bullying among young people is an epidemic, this is a refreshing new narrative full of heart and hope. […] Auggie is a hero to root for, a diamond in the rough who proves that you can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.My takeaway quality: Compassion.
  8. Unveiled, by Rumki Chowdhury51rmll9abql-_sx323_bo1204203200_
    Synopsis: Within this whirlpool of delusion
    Contrary to the conclusion created about me,
    I will give you a new impression, finally.
    “Finally.”
    Because it is about time,
    That reality is not confined
    By the limitations of what one wants to see
    Compared to the openness of how things should be.
    – Rumki ChowdhuryRead my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Liberation.

  9. A Part of Me Refused to Die, by Nisha Sulthana51ef8yndfwl-_sx311_bo1204203200_
    Synopsis: In the late 60s at the age of 16, Nisha is married to a distant cousin, a common practice in her remote South Indian village. Though she marries her husband sight unseen, she is excited about her new life. Quickly, that excitement gives way to despair as she discovers her husband’s secret obsessions. Through trials, betrayal, abuse and manipulation, she is tested in almost unimaginable ways. Clinging to her faith and her children, she emerges from darkness, thankful for every humbling event that brought her to her Lord.Read my review here to know more.

    My takeaway quality: Faith.

  10. Dear Zari, by Zarghuna Kargar51frtnxkd8l-_sx322_bo1204203200_
    Synopsis: Dear Zari gives voice to the secret lives of women across Afghanistan and allows them to tell their stories in their own words: from the child bride given as payment to end a family feud; to a life spent in a dark, dusty room weaving carpets; to a young girl brought up as a boy; to life as a widow shunned by society. Compelling and enlightening, Dear Zari uncovers the reality of life in Afghanistan in stories that are by turn heart-breaking and uplifting. 

    My takeaway quality: Gratitude.

So, there you have it, the top 10 books of my 2017 reading list.

Hop on to my fellow bloggers’ links to see what they were reading in 2017:

  1. The Bookish Nomad
  2. Muslim Mummy
  3. Our Amanahs Our Futures
  4. Ilma Education

I hope they have helped you. Let me know your favourite books in the comments 🙂

*Note: All synopses have been taken from Amazon.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Books of My 2017 Reading List

Leave a comment